Suzuki Home


April 21, 2017

Chino, CA (April 21, 2017) – Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s Roger Hayden gave the new Suzuki GSX-R1000 a most memorable debut by winning Superpole in the MotoAmerica Superbike season opener at the Circuit of The Americas (COTA) on Friday.

Hayden used the power and handling of the Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000 to clock a time of 2:08.184 to clinch pole position. Hayden will be joined on the front row by teammate Toni Elias, who qualified third with a time of 2:08.429.

Last year, Hayden earned pole position at COTA with a time of 2:09.151.

It’s a remarkable American racing debut for the newly redesigned Suzuki GSX-R1000. It’s rare for a new machine to win pole in its first outing, but Suzuki engineers have hit the mark perfectly with the latest incarnation of the legendary GSX-R series.

“It’s good to put the new GSX-R1000 on the pole in its first race weekend out,” Hayden said. “It’s looking pretty good so far and we feel good for the race tomorrow. Suzuki gave us a great package to start with and all my guys at Yoshimura have been working hard to get the bike ready. It’s nice to give them a thank you with the pole.”

Defending race winner Elias feels confident about his race pace and is in a good position with his front-row start.

“Normally it's difficult for me to make the pole,” Elias explained. “but I think we did a good job for the race. We have a good pace. We'll see about the race distance and how the tires will work during the race.”

Hayden, Elias and the rest of the MotoAmerica Superbike field will take the green flag at 5:00 pm local time for what is being dubbed the “Championship of Texas”, round one of the 2017 MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Race Championship. Round two of the series takes place Sunday at 3:45 pm. The races can be watched on BeIN Sports.

COTA Superbike Superpole Results
1.Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 2:08.184
2.Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha) 2:08.342
3.Toni Elias (Suzuki) 2:08.429
4.Bobby Fong (Kawasaki) 2:09.588
5.Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 2:0.9.724
6.Kyle Wyman (Yamaha) 2:09.788
7.Matthew Scholtz (Yamaha) 2:09.877
8.Cameron Petersen (Kawaski) 2:10.124
9.Jake Lewis (Suzuki) 2:11.077
10.Hayden Gillim (Suzuki) 2:11.129

Back to News