Professional rider on closed course competition.

Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Carmichael Bids Farewell to High Point Raceway with Final Victory

May 27, 2007

A near-record sell-out Pennsylvania crowd cheered 15-time AMA Champion Ricky Carmichael to victory at Mt. Morris’ High Point Raceway on Sunday afternoon. The Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 rider won both Motocross-class motos to take the overall victory. The first moto saw Carmichael take over the lead within a few laps, while the second moto had the Florida native in the lead immediately. In true Carmichael fashion, he led to the finish. This is Carmichael’s eighth win at Mt. Morris, his 98th AMA motocross victory and his 146th AMA career win.

Ricky Carmichael:
“It’s days like this that make it hard to quit, with the fans and everything. I’ve really, really got to thank the High Point fans. I’ve been coming here since 1993 on my 80cc and I’ve had some good times here. I really enjoy coming here and I’m glad I could race here this year. I’ve got say thanks to my Makita Suzuki team because this RM-Z450 is a different bike than last weekend. It was really, really good. It felt great when we tested and even though I knew it was going to be hard this weekend, I still felt comfortable… and that was nice.”

In the Motocross Lites class, Team Makita Suzuki Racing’s Ryan Dungey put in a strong, consistent ride on his Makita Suzuki RM-Z250 in both 30-minute motos. The 17-year-old rider from Minnesota carded two fourth-place moto finishes to bring home fourth overall.

Ryan Dungey:
“It was a good race. In that first moto I wasn’t breathing right and that cost us some ground out there. The track was tough and the ruts were deep, but I just caught myself not breathing. In the second moto, I was feeling better. Now, we’ve got two weeks off and we know what we need to work on and I just want to come back healthy for the next round. Last year, I struggled quite a bit, but I’m figuring it out. It just takes some time, but it’s good to have my Makita Suzuki RM-Z250 up there in the top five.”

Team Makita Suzuki Racing will race next at Motocross 338 in Southwick, MA, the weekend of June 9 – 10, 2007.

Motocross Top 10 Finishers Overall:

1 Ricky Carmichael (Makita Suzuki)
2 James Stewart (Kawasaki)
3 Davi Millsaps (Honda)
4 Timmy Ferry (Kawasaki)
5 Andrew Short (Honda)
6 Grant Langston (Yamaha)
7 Kevin Windham (Honda)
8 Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
9 Mike Alessi (KTM)
10 David Vuillemin (Honda)

Motocross Lites Top 10 Finishers Overall:

1 Josh Grant (Honda)
2 Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
3 Ben Townley (Kawasaki)
4 Ryan Dungey (Makita Suzuki)
5 Jason Lawrence (Yamaha)
6 Thomas Hahn (Honda)
7 Jake Weimer (Honda)
8 Broc Tickle (Yamaha)
9 Josh Hill (Yamaha)
10 Matt Goerke (Yamaha)

Back to News

Feb 13
Feb 19
Feb 20
Feb 26
Feb 27
Mar 5
Mar 12
Mar 19
Apr 1
Apr 2
Apr 9
Apr 15
Apr 16
Apr 23
Apr 29
Apr 30
May 7
Oct 15